Himeji Castle
Himeji Castle, located in Himeji, Hyogo today is designated as a world heritage site. The castle is also called Hakuro-jo/Shirasagi-jo (white egret castle) because the exterior walls are painted with white plaster.
Yoshitaka Kuroda offered the castle to Hideyoshi Hashiba in 1580, and then, Hideyoshi built stone walls and three-tiered Tenshu (castle keeps) to make it their base for conquering Chugoku region. In 1600, after the Battle of Sekigahara, Terumasa Ikeda, Ieyasu Tokugawa’s son-in-law, received properties bearing 520,000 koku (a Japanese unit of volume similar to the bushel) and entered the castle. He made a large renovation of the castle to defend against the Tozama daimyo (feudal lords who are outside of the rulers) in western Japan, which took 9 years to complete. The Himeji Castle complex is a typical Hirayama-jiro (low mountain castle) that encloses Mt. Hime and Mt. Sagi, and its peripheral hills and flatlands with three concentric moats. It was designated as a world heritage site in 1993 due to being a perfect example of a Japanese castle, combining military purposes and artistic beauty. The castle is also called Hakuro-jo/Shirasagi-jo (White Egret Castle) because the exterior walls are painted with white plaster.
A distinctive feature of this castle’s complex is the many complicated passages within its walls. Five-tiered Dai-tenshu (the main keep), which has six floors and a basement, is located in the center of the complex. The three Sho-tenshu (smaller subsidiary castle keeps) are connected to each other by four Watari-yagura (roofed passages): i, ro, ha, and ni. This building style is called Renritsu-tenshu and was cutting-edge at the time. This nationally designated castle is the tallest surviving castle in Japan, standing at approximately 46 meters, including stone walls. Interestingly, the Himeji Castle complex changes appearance depending on the angle of viewing, because of its complicated walkways and annexed buildings.
The Tenshu (keeps) retain their military features such as Nagashi-dai (sinks) and Secchin (toilets) in case of a siege. The complex also has Ishiuchidana (stone-throwing platforms) situated at the windows, 605 gun racks, and 129 ventilation windows to disperse smoke from guns.
Related People, Things and Events
Books
Related Works
Videos
Institutions Holding Related Materials
兵庫県姫路市が運営する姫路城の公式サイト。姫路城の歴史や城の楽しみ方、イベント情報などを紹介。
姫路城に関する貴重な絵図や史料、古写真、修理図面などの歴史資料や研究成果のデジタルアーカイブ。姫路市だけでなく各地の博物館や研究機関が所蔵する資料も含まれる。
References
- 加藤得二 責任編集,小学館
- 西ヶ谷恭弘, 日[ビ]貞夫 著,文藝春秋
- 平凡社安土城から首里城まで,一度は訪ねたい西日本の名城44。現在の姿と,貴重な古写真や古地図などで移り変わり,見どころを紹介。(日本児童図書出版協会)
- 学研パブリッシング,学研マーケティング
